CPTV Wins ‘Best News Broadcast’ At State Conference

By: Crown Point Community School Corporation Last Updated: March 12, 2014

On March 10, students on staff of CPTV (Technical Communication course) traveled to the University of Indianapolis for the 2014 Indiana Association of Student Broadcasters conference and competition.

The staff submitted the January 19, 2014 episode of CPTV (which can be viewed at www.cptvmedia.com) to be considered by numerous TV broadcasting professionals from the Indianapolis market. After taking second in the state last year to Ben Davis, the staff of CPTV won the 2014 state championship for Best News Broadcast, edging out schools such as Carmel High School, Ben Davis High School, Lake Central High School, and Martinsville High School. The staff of CPTV consists of the following students:

Sophomores Tiffany Dewes and Brianna Rhodes; juniors Jordyn Banske, Alexis Berdine, Becca Chromey, Kelsea Costello, Megan Fernandez, Valerie Jones, Raquelle Majors and Nick Sansone; and seniors Racheal Bukowski, Shelby Kiger, Tyler Reed, Rachel Reitan, Maggie Robinson, Griffin Rushton, Tobey Schmidt and Ashlyn Stiener. CPTV is advised by Chris Gloff & Brent Barber.

Photo - Back Row: Co-adviser Brent Barber, senior Griffin Rushton, Co-adviser Chris Gloff Middle Row: Senior Shelby Kiger, senior Rachel Bukowski, junior Valerie Jones, senior Maggie Robinson, senior Tobey Schmidt, junior Kelsea Costello, senior Rachel Reitan, junior Nick Sansone, junior Alexis Berdine Front Row: Junior Megan Fernandez, senior Ashlyn Stiener, junior Raquelle Majors