Six Lake County Students Join the 24th Cohort of Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Six Lake County Students Join the 24th Cohort of Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Top grades, numerous extra-curricular activities, and a desire to attend college in Indiana has earned six students the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship in Lake County, Ind. Legacy Foundation announced the 2020-21 recipients:

Cammay Brown, West Side Leadership Academy
Lauren Cicillian, Hobart High School
Christian Duh, River Forest High School
Alessandra Gonzalez, Highland High School
Cykara Lewis, Calumet New Tech
Nitya Shah, Lake Central High School

Meet the Recipients!

“It is an honor for Legacy Foundation to administer this program. I am impressed each year by the caliber of students we have here in Lake County. These young women and men have been a positive force for change by serving their schools and community. During these unprecedented times, it is heartening to know we have young leaders who are devoted to Indiana. I look forward to seeing the accomplishments of these students for years to come,” said Jodi Kateiva, Legacy Foundation scholarship administrator.

The scholarship will provide full-tuition, required-fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program is a statewide program administered by local community foundations throughout Indiana. Legacy Foundation administers the program in Lake County and Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) provides statewide oversight of the program. Since the program’s inception in 1998, 4,912 Indiana high school students have been awarded the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.