Nominations Open for E-Day Awards

nwi-sbdcNominations are now being accepted for the Northwest ISBDC’s annual Entrepreneurial Excellence (E-Day) Awards.

The 22nd annual E-Day will honor entrepreneurs and champions in categories including Small Business Person of the year, Entrepreneurial Success Award, Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Minority Small Business Person of the Year, Small Business Advocate of the Year and Women in Business Champion of the Year.

Packets and a full list of categories are available by visiting or by calling the NW-ISBDC office at (219) 644-3513. Completed nomination packets are due by Sept. 10.

“Our E-Day awards are an opportunity to celebrate our region’s small business community and provide an avenue to honor individuals and businesses that are making an impact,” said NW-ISBDC Regional Director Lorri Feldt. “Our 2012 Young Entrepreneur of the Year, Wade Breitzke, and our 2012 Family-Owned Business of the Year, Integrative Flavors, went on to be recognized on a statewide level.”

Breitzke, the president of Valparaiso's 27 Entertainment and We Create Media, was named SBA’s Indiana Young Entrepreneur of the Year. Integrative Flavors, based out of Michigan City, was among the 2013 Indiana Companies to Watch.

The 2013 award winners will be honored at the E-Day luncheon event from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesday Nov. 6 at the Star Plaza in Merrillville. The event includes the awards presentation as well as keynote speaker Scott Albanese of Albanese Confectionery.

For ticket or sponsorship information, visit

Serving seven counties in the region, the NW-ISBDC offers no-cost assistance for entrepreneurs starting or expanding their businesses. Through one-on-one consulting, the NW-ISBDC helps guide small businesses toward their goals by offering referrals, workshops, training opportunities and other essential business tools. It is funded in part through a cooperative agreement with the Small Business Administration, the State of Indiana and other local partners.

For more information, visit