Lake County Public Library Recognizes Young Readers in 2017

By: Lake County Public Library Last Updated: May 30, 2017

Lake-County-Public-Library-Recognizes-Young-Readers-2017The Lake County Public Library Foundation recognized first place winners of the annual Read-a-Thon at Avalon Manor in Merrillville on Wednesday, May 17.

Foundation members: Chalotte Malone-Williams, Ella Gilbertson, Tom Lounges, Marti Ross, Carol Moore, Dian Reyome, and Charman Shields-Williamson pose with the winners and their trophies: Jacob Herrick, Amanda Booker, Berlyn Compton, Aowynn Cooper, Braiden Cooper, Trenton Reeves-Maglish, Joey LaPatra, Aniveah Brown, Noal Sullivan, Mariela Lopez, Jonah Schutter, and James Aguila.

Each year the Foundation encourages schools in Gary, Merrillville, Cedar Lake, Dyer, Schererville, Griffith, Highland, Hobart, Lake Station, Munster, New Chicago, and St. John to promote reading. Children participate by seeking sponsors, then reading as many books as possible during the six-week read-a-thon. Once the money has been collected, schools receive one-third of the total raised by their students for their library. This year, 918 children participated and over $20,000 was given to the schools.

Trophies were given to all students who raised money and gift cards from book stores were given to students in first through eighth place. The sponsors of the event were Centier Bank, People Bank, and Pinnacle.