Lake County Public Library Recognizes Readers

lake-county-public-library-recognizes-readersThe Lake County Public Library Foundation recognized first place winners of the annual Read-a-Thon Annual Awards ceremony at Avalon Manor in Merrillville on Wednesday, May 7. Foundation members: Michael McIntyre, Dian Reyome, Marti Ross, and Charman Shields-Williamson pose with the winners and their trophies: Shirmara Anderson, Mason Cooper, Logan Smolar, Joey LaPatra, James Aguila, Keirstynn Elder, Delaney Williams, Amelia Marshall, and Halie Meeks (not shown is Brooklyn Kuna).

Each year the Foundation encourages schools in Gary, Merrillville, Cedar Lake, Dyer, Schererville, Griffith, Highland, Hobart, Lake Station, Munster, New Chicago, and St. John to promote reading. Children participate by seeking sponsors, then reading as many books as possible during the six-week read-a-thon. Once the money has been collected, schools receive one-third of the total raised by their students for their library, while the remainder is used by the Foundation to purchase items not provided by public funding (taxes) for the various branches of the library district.

This year, 1,145 children participated and over $18,000 was given to the schools. Trophies were given to every student that participated and gift cards from book stores were given to students in first through eighth place.