IU McKinney School of Law Partners with Regional Campuses to Create IU Regional Law Scholars Program

rot1The Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law has entered into an agreement with all five of IU’s regional campuses to create the Indiana University Regional Law Scholars program, an opportunity for top undergraduate students and alumni at IU regional campuses to pursue a world-class legal education and study at Indiana University Purdue University at Indianapolis (IUPUI).

Julie Smith, director of Student Recruitment at the IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law will be on hand at IU Northwest on Thursday, Feb. 11 to talk to pre-law and prospective law school students about the opportunities. The session is scheduled for 11:45 a.m. in the Moraine Student Center. IU Northwest Pre-Law Advisor and School of Business and Economics Dean Anna Rominger will also be on hand to speak to prospective students about law school opportunities.

IU Northwest students need not be enrolled in the School of Business and Economics or Pre-Law Program to meet with Smith. Prospective law students will have the opportunity to speak with Smith to learn more about the Law Scholar Program for IU Northwest students offered at IUPUI, as well as to request promotional material and ask questions about the university and campus life.

Alumni and current students at IU Northwest, South Bend, Kokomo, East, and Southeast are eligible to apply for the newly created IU Regional Law Scholars Program. The first students in the program will begin law school in Fall 2016.

Interested alumni and students from IU’s regional campuses must have completed an application to IU McKinney by March 1; the application fee will be waived. To be eligible for the program, the applicant must be accepted by IU McKinney and receive an admission offer from the law school. Each regional campus will nominate up to three people for the award. Regional campuses have until March 31 to nominate people for consideration into the program.

A total of three award recipients will be selected by April 15. The program offers a minimum of a renewable half-tuition scholarship, as well as guaranteed experiential learning opportunities or paid employment as a research assistant following completion of 31 law school credit hours.

This brings the total number of colleges and universities the law school has created partnership agreements with to 10. The others are Marian University, Wabash College, Bradley University, Franklin College, the University of Southern Indiana, DePauw University, Albion College, Anderson University, and Butler University.

To learn more about the IU Northwest School of Business and Economics, visit http://www.iun.edu/business/. For more information on the IU Northwest Pre-Law program, go to http://www.iun.edu/pre-law/.