Duneland Students Selected for Arts a Budding Exhibit

Duneland-School-CorporationThe 39th annual Porter County Arts-A-Budding student art show will be on display from March 1-11 at the Chapel of the Resurrection, Valparaiso University Campus. This exhibit is organized through volunteer efforts of these teachers and is sponsored by the Porter County Arts Commission in cooperation with the Bauer Museum of Art, Valparaiso University. Visiting hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m.-6 p.m. and Saturday from 8 a.m.-2 p.m. Closed on Sundays and on Wednesday, March 5.

This is an exhibit of the best artwork produced by students in grades 1-8 in Porter County. Visual Art teachers from across Porter County have selected the best artwork done by their students during the past year. The art works done by these students include various media such as drawing, painting, printmaking, fiber art, sculpture, pottery and computer graphics.

These honored students, along with their families and friends are invited to the opening award reception on Sunday, March 9 at 2:00 p.m. Approximately 1,500 people attend the ceremony every year. At the reception students will be publicly recognized for their accomplishment by name and will receive a ribbon. Each year the talents and accomplishments of more than 400 participants are recognized. Arts-A-Budding gives Porter County students an opportunity to exhibit their work and be rewarded for artistic merit.

Ninety Duneland students whose works will be exhibited are:

Bailly Elementary: Samantha Ames, Emma Broward, Evan Dickinson, Sam Goin, Gina Greenen, Katie Highberger, Alya Johnson, Reese Kolasa, Andie Nevers, Jenna Werner, Annabelle Lyons

Brummitt Elementary: Rebecca Adcock, Amalia Escalante, Edith Estridge, Tyler Hardsock, Adeline Janowski, Teah Pierce, Ella Rodriguez, Maggie Sesniak, Eamon Skube, Erika Smock, Pandora Swaney

Jackson Elementary: Aubrey Burnham, Lillian Boyter, Reece Erow, Tyler Ilgin, Mallory Killosky, Kailee Komisarcik, Regan Krachinski, Matthew Marmolejo, Hayden Stott, Maddy Taylor, Kade Tosh

Liberty Elementary: Brayden Berardi, Lucas Cunninham, Payttin Farster, Zander Fish, Macy Highlan, Kaitlyn Kogl, Sebastian Kogl, Maggie Oksimowicz, Tristan Reed, Elian Rodriguez, Cole Taylor

Yost Elementary: Madison Ellis, Evan Griffiths, Makenna Hyska, Fiona Martin, Ryan McWhirter, James Rader, Carley Rhoda, Grace Wolters, Klaire Thupvong, Lana Troy

Liberty Intermediate School: Jaelynne Corral, Richie Grutsch, Justine Keiser, Emma Kitchel, Megan Koster, Gavin Layman, Kennedy Olson, Nathaniel Perry, Bryce Pickering, Riley Stasny, Leighton Wrigley

Westchester Intermediate School: Sydney Braveman, Jacob Coslet, Abbi Gillespie, Abby Henderson, Quentin Funderburg, Jack Furmanek, Kyle McEuen, Eve Senderhauf, Alaina South, Daniel Vasquez, Abby Wilcox

Chesterton Middle School: Stephanie Archbald, Tanner Berardi, Tabitha Broering, Jenna Elliott, Victoria Evans, Brinley Fowler, Lexi Gacioch, Kaylee Hanrath, Christine Jackson, Connor Krantz, Julia Lecy, Baylie Lawson, Makenzie Owens, Eli Pokorney, Paige Ritchey, Morgan Sauter, Alex Schmidt, Alex Smith, Nik Tankiewicz, Tessa Tilden, Madison Torok, Kayla Van Nostran

Respective Duneland art teachers are Anne Long of Bailly, Marie Englehart of Brummitt, Susan Calkusic of Jackson Elem., Colin May of Liberty Elem., Pam Adamik of Yost; Natalie Loden of Liberty Intermediate; Cheryl Muller of Westchester Intermediate; and Jason Gast and Brooke Sutter of Chesterton Middle.