CHS Trojan Guard celebrates recent success at Goshen HS

CHS Trojan Guard celebrates recent success at Goshen HS

The Chesterton High School Trojan Guard traveled to Goshen High School on September 14 to compete alongside thirteen Northern Indiana bands in the annual Goshen High School Crimson Marching Invitational. The Trojan Guard placed first in its class and swept all caption awards, earning distinctions in music and visual performance as well as general effect. 

The Trojan Guard will continue its competitive season at Concord High School on September 21, Penn High School on September 28, and at Plymouth High School on October 12 for the ISSMA Scholastic Prelims competition. 

The Trojan Guard’s 2019 production, titled “Metal,” is comprised of three movements and features five soloists throughout the performance: Colin Campbell (percussion), Ryan Herr (flugelhorn), Lucy Novreske (mellophone), Emerson Stobbe (tenor saxophone), and Alaina Wring (baritone). The show’s concept draws themes from different aspects of “metal,” including metalworking, precious metals, and the metal music genre. Source music for the show includes “Foundry” by John Mackey, “Golden Slumbers” as recorded by The Beatles, and songs by Dream Theater, “Stream of Consciousness” and “As I Am.”

The 97 members of the Trojan Guard include: Melanie Allison, Frank Augustyn, Katie Billings, Heidi Boltze, Morgan Brookhouse, Jonathan Browning, Caden Brum, Clayton Buckley, Colin Campbell, Nathaniel Carpentier, Paulina Chavez, Addison Cole, Emma Comfort, Lydia Comfort, Theresa Connors, Adam Davis, Giovanni DePasquale, Abigail Diddona, Gavin Dooley, Chloe Eash, Freedom Eiden, Ethan Elliott-Halinski, Andrew Engel, Hannah Estridge, Thomas Fadell, Cormac Fallon, Anna Fletcher, Noah Fletcher, Emmie Fredrickson, Ryana Freeman, Caden French, Evelyn Gardiner, Tim Goldsberry, Brayden Gray, Max Grimley, Liam Heneghan, Seamus Heneghan, Daniel Herr, Ryan Herr, Max Houghteling, Harleah Hufstedler, Sam Jewett, Addison Kellogg, Carlie Kocoj, Megan Koster, Meagan Koutsopanagos, Grace Kozyra, Kara Lahaie, Adam Laughner, Olivia Lee, Abbey Leffert, Hailey Leohr, Olivia Lopez, Anya Loving, August Lovitz, Ellie Martz, Dexter Matthew, Dylan Mattson, Abby McCarthy, Troy McCormick, Peter McNicholas, Anthony Miskus, Brianna Moehl, Jackie Moehl, Haleigh Nelson, Lucy Novreske, Jimmy O’Connor, Abigail Palmer, Sophia Palmer, Skylar Peffers, Dominick Pilla, Jocelynn Ponce, Ellen Rath, Benjamin Rutkowski, Gwen Sanders, Krystina Santiago, Alec Schmidt, Alyssa Schmidt, Roxanne Schwab, Danica Sessions, Carly Sparacio, Evan Sprang, Connor Stadler, Emerson Stobbe, Bowen Summer, Cody Tretter, Lilly Vaughan, Morgan Virden, Shayne Wassell, Adalyn Weitzel, Jennifer Whybrew, Bridget Wisdom, Alaina Wring, Chloe Wring, and Madison Wunderlin. 

The Trojan Guard is under the direction of Vince Arizzi and Adam Bess. Additional staff membersinclude Elliott Borg, Matthew Christensen, Michael DePasquale, Miles Eaton, and Kayla Hestermann. 

The Duneland community is invited to join the Trojan Guard for its community performance on Saturday, October 5, beginning at 5 p.m. at the Chesterton HS stadium. Admission is free. For more information, please contact Adam Bess, (219) 983-3730.