Bishop Noll Institute teachers and students take e-Learning to next level

Bishop Noll Institute teachers and students take e-Learning to next level
By: Bishop Noll Institute Last Updated: April 17, 2020

What: Bishop Noll Institute, a Catholic high school in Northwest Indiana that sits 3 miles from the Chicago border, has successfully implemented e-Learning throughout its courses and continues to go above and beyond to make sure student needs are met in mind, body and soul. Not only has Noll seamlessly transitioned to e-learning while other schools are struggling, but Noll is committed to continuing school until June, going beyond just meeting the state requirements. In addition, Noll's extracurriculars have continued to meet virtually and students have continued to hold online prayer sessions.

Where: Bishop Noll Institute, 1519 Hoffman St., Hammond, Indiana

Who: Bishop Noll Principal Lorenza Pastrick, teachers, and students (see list of email addresses below)

Background: Bishop Noll Institute has seamlessly transitioned to e-learning while other schools have struggled. While other area schools are just meeting their 20-day requirement from the state and ending for the year, Bishop Noll  has a great academic system that's working--and students will continue to receive their education until June. Faculty and students even worked on Easter Monday instead of the planned holiday to add more days to the academic calendar.

Bishop Noll upgraded its technology infrastructure in recent years and was already two years into a 1-to-1 iPad program making the changes  relatively seamless. The 1:1 program not only provides BNI students with necessary technology to achieve success in this digital age, but allows them to expand their already budding skills that are needed to be a 21st-century thinker – skills of problem solving, critical thinking, collaboration, social responsibility and technological literacy.

Daily prayer and reflections are communicated through the Campus Ministry Department. Moreover, our students and faculty are taking it to new heights. Students and faculty gather for a weekly Divine Mercy Chaplet prayer service using Zoom app conferencing. “Chapel” sessions are held remotely on Mondays and Wednesdays.

Additional virtual events have been put into place as teachers and counselors engage students for curricular, extra-curricular and spiritual purposes. In the process, they also are keeping tabs on student learning and, just as important, students’ overall well-being.

Contact:  Principal Lorenza Pastrick - (219) 932-9058, lpastrick@bishopnoll.org

Additional contacts: 

Marisa Renwald--technology instructional coach, mrenwald@bishopnoll.org

Ryan Julian--social studies, rjulian@bishopnoll.org

Eloy Melero--math, emelero@bishopnoll.org

Todd Peters--math, tpeters@bishopnoll.org

Katie Fredericksen--theology, kfredericksen@bishopnoll.org

Kayla Konkle--theater, kjones@bishopnoll.org

Aaliyah Sierra (senior), aaliyah.sierra20@bishopnoll.org

Angela Luna (senior), angela.luna20@bishopnoll.org

Julianna Martinez (senior), julianna.martinez20@bishopnoll.org