2014 St. Anthony Cookout Serves Appreciation to Area First-Responders

2014-St-Anthony-Annual-Cookout Each May during National Emergency Medical Services Week, Rob Dowling (second from right), Franciscan St. Anthony Health-Crown Point Emergency Medical Services Academy director, continues a tradition of hosting an appreciation luncheon-cookout for area first-responders and hospital staff in honor of their services and teamwork. At this year’s event on May 22, Steve Jacobs (far left) and Scott Arnold (far right), both of whom are assistant Valparaiso fire chiefs, served as chefs for the day.

EMS Academy medical director Stevan Vuckovic, D.O., who also is a hospital Emergency Department physician, stands with the group. The academy that day also presented achievement awards to paramedics who recently have retired and included Gary Gail, Dean Leubke and George Pyle, all of whom retired from Crown Point Fire and Rescue Department and had a combined total of more than 90 years in the profession. A new Paramedic of the Year Award, given in honor of the late Mike Abramson, who formerly was employed part-time in the Franciscan St. Anthony Health Emergency Department and full-time with Tri-Creek Emergency Medical Services, was presented to Corey Myers, of Newton County Emergency Medical Services. He also was an instructor for the hospital’s EMS Academy. “Mike was an excellent paramedic, in both the hospital and pre-hospital settings, as well as a knowledgeable educator.

Mike had a wonderful comedic nature about him, which was a model for how to do the best for your patients, but not to take things too seriously,” Dowling said, adding, “Corey was chosen based on his competence and professionalism as a paramedic. He also has made significant contributions to the paramedic program as an educator for the EMS Academy, as well as for his ability to remain calm in difficult situations.” Myers was chosen by Vuckovic and Dowling, based on ED staff recommendations, competence shown on emergency calls in the last year and academy student input.